

State Education Requirements 2021

Alabama

Ala. Admin. Code r. 532-X-3-.01

100 hours of anatomy and physiology consisting of 35 hours of myology, 15 hours of osteology, 10 hours of circulatory system, and 10 hours of nervous system, and 30 hours of other body systems at the discretion of the school;

40 hours of pathology

250 hours of basic massage therapy, contraindications of massage therapy, contraindications to massage therapy, and related touch modalities, to include a minimum of 50 hours of supervised massage;

50 hours of miscellaneous required courses including business, hydrotherapy, first aid, cardiopulmonary resuscitation, and professional ethics;

210 hours of electives to be determined by the school.

Alaska

Authority: AS 08.61.020 AS 08.61.100

(b) For applications submitted on or after July 1, 2019, applicants must show successful completion of at least 625 hours of education or instruction in massage therapy that includes the following subjects for the minimum number of hours specified:

- (1) anatomy, physiology, pathology, and kinesiology: 162 hours, including instruction in
 - (A) at least 40 hours in pathology, including indications and contraindications;
 - (B) the muscular system;
 - (C) the nervous system;
 - (D) osteology;
 - (E) the circulatory system; and
 - (F) kinesiology;
- (2) massage theory and practical application: 275 hours, including instruction in
 - (A) basic massage therapy techniques dedicated to the study of massage therapy and various clinically related modalities; and
 - (B) assessment;
- (3) clinical practice: 138 hours, including instruction in
 - (A) universal and standard precautions;
 - (B) self-care;
 - (C) body mechanics;
 - (D) draping;
 - (E) record keeping;
 - (F) business practice and professional development; and
 - (G) medical terminology;
- (4) ethics and laws: 50 hours, including instruction in
 - (A) professional boundaries;
 - (B) therapeutic relationships; and
 - (C) local and state laws;



- (5) not more than 50 hours in techniques that are exempt from license requirements;
- (6) practical application, not to exceed 20 percent of the total hours of the massage program.

Arizona

R4-15-201.

700 classroom and clinical hours of supervised instruction at a Board recognized school. (No curriculum requirements listed).

Arkansas

Ark. Code Ann. §17-86-306

- (e) The department may certify the school and provide for licensure thereof if the school follows a curriculum consisting of not fewer than five hundred (500) hours of in-classroom instruction over a term of not fewer than four (4) months consisting of the following subjects:
 - (1) One hundred seventy-five (175) hours of anatomy, physiology, pathology, and contraindications to massage therapy;
 - (2) Two hundred twenty-five (225) hours of technique;
 - (3) Twenty-five (25) hours of hydrotherapy, electrotherapy, and heliotherapy;
 - (4) Twenty-five (25) hours of hygiene and infection control;
 - (5) Twenty-five (25) hours of massage therapy law, business management, and professional ethics: and
 - (6) Twenty-five (25) hours of related subjects as approved by the department

California

Curriculum – All 500 hours of education must be provided under active and direct supervision of qualified instructors.

- (A) Provide a minimum of at least 100 supervised clock hours or credit unit equivalent addressing the following subjects;
 - 1. A minimum of 64 hours of anatomy and physiology, including but not limited to orientation to the human body; integumentary, skeletal, fascial, muscular, nervous, cardiovascular, and other body systems; and kinesiology.
 - 2. A minimum of 13 hours of contraindications, including but not limited to endangerment areas, contraindications and medications and massage.
 - 3. A minimum of 5 hours of health and hygiene, including but not limited to understanding disease, therapist hygiene, infection control, and standard precautions.
 - 4. A minimum of 18 hours of business and ethics, including but not limited to obtaining and maintaining credentials, adhering to laws and regulations, ethical principles, standards of ethical practice, and compliance with the Law applicable to CAMTC certified massage professionals.
- (B) Provide a minimum of 400 additional and appropriately weighted supervised clock hours in subjects substantially related to the massage profession, including but not limited to additional hours for topics required above, massage theory and principles, professional practices,



therapeutic relationship, assessment and documentation, massage and bodywork application, palpation and movement, and career development. A minimum of 250 hours shall be in the supervised instruction of hands-on massage; California Business and Professions Code section 4601 (e) defines massage as "the scientific manipulation of the soft tissues." CAMTC reserves the right, in its sole discretion, to determine whether curriculum is substantially related to massage or not.

(C) Student clinic hours may count for no more than 75 of the required 500 supervised clock hours.

Colorado

Colo. Rev. Stat. §12-35.5-107

A massage therapy program that consists of at least five hundred total hours of course work and clinical work from an approved massage school

An applicant for licensure must have successfully completed at least five hundred (500) total hours of course work and clinical work from an approved massage school.

Rule 2 (B)

Student massage therapists may practice massage therapy only under the immediate supervision of a massage therapist holding a valid and current license.

Rule 6 (B)

Connecticut

Conn. Gen. Stat. Ann. §20-206b

a course of study of not less than five hundred (500) classroom hours with the instructor present. (No curriculum specified). NCB code required as of Oct 1, 2019.

Delaware

Del. Code Ann. Tit. 24 § 5308

(2) Has completed 500 hours of supervised in-class study as a student in a school which trains massage or bodywork therapists, or as a student in an

approved program of massage or bodywork therapy; the school or program of training must include a curriculum of no less than:

- a. 100 hours of anatomy and physiology;
- b. 300 hours of technique and theory of massage or bodywork therapy;
- c. 75 hours of elective courses in the field of massage therapy;
- d. 25 hours of ethics, law and contraindications;

Del. Code Ann. Tit. 24 § 5309

Has completed 300-hour course of supervised in-class study of massage, including:

60 hours anatomy and physiology

140 hours of theory and technique



75 hours of elective courses in field of massage 25 hours of ethics, law and contraindications

District of Columbia

D.C. Mun. Regs. tit. 17 §7502.2

Successfully completed a minimum of five hundred (500) hours of in-class training.

Florida

Fl. Admin. Code Ann. R. 64B7-32.003

(1)(b) Offer a course of study that includes, at a minimum, the 500 classroom hours listed below, competed at the rate of no more than 6 classroom hours per day and no more than 30 classroom hours per calendar week:

Course of Study Classroom Hours

Anatomy and Physiology 150
Basic Massage Theory and History 100
Clinical Practicum 125
Allied Modalities 76
Business 15
Theory and Practice of Hydrotherapy 15
Florida Laws and Rules 10
Professional Ethics 4
HIV/AIDS Education 3
Medical Errors 2

Georgia

Ga. Comp. R. & Regs. §345-8-.01

In order to be a Georgia Board recognized massage therapy education program, the program must have a minimum curriculum of five-hundred (500) total clock hours of supervised classroom and supervised hands-on instruction. For purposes of this rule, "supervised" means the supervisor is physically on-site, qualified and immediately available. The minimum required subject matter and activities and the minimum required hours are as follows:

125 hours of anatomy, physiology & kinesiology

40 hours of pathology

200 hours in massage therapy theory, technique and practice

125 hours of contraindications, benefits, universal precautions, body mechanics, massage history, client data collection, documentation, and legalities of massage, professional standards including draping, modesty, therapeutic relationships and communications.

10 hours in ethics and business, with at least 6 in ethics

At least 50 but no more than 60 of the total 500 hours must be in supervised student clinic practice.



Hawaii

Haw. Code R. §16-84-48

- (a) The student program shall consist of not less than five hundred seventy hours. In addition, the student shall successfully complete a cardiopulmonary resuscitation training program.
- (b) The curriculum of the massage school shall contain the following:
 - 50 hours of anatomy, physiology, and structural kinesiology,
 - 100 hours of theory and demonstration of massage
 - 420 hours of practical massage training under the supervision of a teacher in a school setting

Idaho

Idaho Admin. Code r. 24.27.01.600

minimum of five hundred (500) in-class supervised hours of coursework and clinic work;

200 hours in massage and bodywork assessment, theory and application,

125 hours in body systems, including anatomy, physiology, and kinesiology

40 hours in pathology

25 hours in business and ethics

110 hours must be clinical work.

Illinois

Effective January 1, 2014, an applicant's massage therapy training must meet the following minimum criteria:

- 1) A minimum of 600 clock hours or its equivalent in credit hours of supervised classroom and supervised hands-on instruction. Should an applicant not meet the required number of classroom/hands-on hours, the Division may require completion of additional coursework, as identified in subsection (a)(2), prior to licensure. For purposes of this subsection (a)(1), "supervised" means the supervisor is physically on-site, qualified and immediately available.
- 2) The minimum required subject matter and activities are:
 - A) Human anatomy, physiology, pathology and kinesiology.
- B) Massage therapy theory, technique and practice, which may include but is not limited to: effleurage/gliding; petrissage/kneading; compression; friction tapotement/percussion; vibration; direct pressure; superficial warming techniques; pumping; stretching; jostling; shaking; rocking.
- C) Contraindications, benefits, universal precautions, body mechanics, history, client data collection, documentation, ethics, business and legalities of massage, professional standards including draping and modesty, therapeutic relationships and communications.
- 3) Each student must maintain a minimum grade of 70% for all massage therapy related course and clinical work as described in this Section.

Indiana

847 Ind. Admin. Code 1-3-2



Applicants for certification must have successfully completed a massage therapy school or program that requires at least five hundred (500) hours of supervised classroom and hands-on instruction on massage therapy. (No specific curriculum is listed.)

(Source: Amended at 38 III. Reg. 5880, effective February 24, 2014)

lowa

Iowa Code Ann. §152C.3 Iowa Admin. Code r. 645-132.3 Iowa Admin. Code r. 645-132.4

a. Completion of a curriculum of massage education at a school approved by the board which requires for admission a diploma from an accredited high school or the equivalent and requires completion of at least six hundred hours of supervised academic instruction. However, educational requirements under this paragraph are subject to reduction by the board if, after public notice and hearing, the board determines that the welfare of the public may be adequately protected with fewer hours of education. Iowa Code Ann. §152C.3

An approved curriculum shall include but not be limited to the following content areas:

Fundamentals of massage therapy

Clinical application of massage and bodywork therapies

Client communication theory and practice

Health care referral theory and practice

Anatomy and physiology

Kinesiology

Pathology and skills in infection control, injury prevention and sanitation

Iowa law and ethics

Business management

Wellness and healthy lifestyle theory and practice

Iowa Admin. Code r. 645-132.3

Students shall complete at least 200 hours of coursework in the content areas of fundamentals of massage and assessment that includes indications and contraindications for treatment prior to providing services to the public and beginning the clinical practicum. Included in this 200 hours will be a minimum of 100 hours in anatomy and physiology. The clinical practicum shall not exceed 120 hours of a 600-hour program. Iowa Admin. Code r. 645-132.4, as amended by Iowa ARC 0288C, NOIA dated 8/22/2012

Kentucky

Ky. Rev. Stat. Ann. §309.358

a course of study consisting of a minimum of six hundred (600) hours of supervised instruction in a massage therapy training program approved by the board.



Requirements for board approval of a massage therapy program include a curriculum statement showing clock hours devoted to each subject with the following minimums:

- 1. 125 hours of anatomy, physiology, or kinesiology;
- 2. 200-hour course to include massage theory, techniques, and practice focusing on gliding strokes, kneading, direct pressure, deep friction, joint movement, superficial warming techniques, percussion, compression, vibration, jostling, shaking and rocking;
- 3. 200 hours of approach to the business of massage, specifically including contraindications, benefits, business, history, ethics, client documentation, legalities of massage, and modality courses designed to meet the school's specific program objectives;
- 4. 40 hours of pathology; and
- 5. additional 35 curricular hours

Ky. Rev. Stat. Ann. §309.363

Louisiana

La. Admin. Code tit. 46 §1101
500 hours in-class supervised course of studies, including:
325 hours of massage techniques and clinical practicum
125 hours anatomy and physiology
50 hours of related course work

Maine

02-041-300 Me. Code R. §3

500 supervised clock hours of classroom and clinical instruction.

Human Anatomy, Physiology, and Pathology (120 hours);

Massage Therapy Theory, Techniques, and Practice;

contraindications, benefits, universal precautions, body mechanics, business, history, ethics, and legalities of massage and professional standards regarding draping and modesty; and a minimum of 100 hours of supervised hands-on practice.

Maryland

Md. Code Regs. 10.65.01.07

Classroom Training.

- (1) Of the minimum 600 hours classroom training required in Regulation .04A (8), B, and C (7) of this chapter:
 - (a) At least 100 hours shall consist of:
 - (i) Anatomy;
 - (ii) Physiology;
 - (iii) Pathology; and
 - (iv) Kinesiology; and



- (b) The remaining 500 hours shall include a majority of hours in:
 - (i) Massage therapy theory;
 - (ii) Technique;
 - (iii) Supervised practice;
 - (iv) Professional ethics;
 - (v) Professional standards;
 - (vi) Business practices;
 - (vii) Health and hygiene; and
 - (viii) Contraindications of massage.
- (2) Cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) shall be included but do not count toward the 600-hour minimum.

Md. Code Regs. 10.65.01.07

Massachusetts

269 Mass. Code Regs. 3.01

650 classroom hours of supervised instruction at a Licensed Massage School.

300 supervised classroom hours in massage theory and technique, 150 hours of which meet the definition of massage

100 hours of unpaid and supervised clinical

100 hours in the Anatomy and Physiology

45 hours in Pathology;

45 hours in Kinesiology;

300 hours in supervised in classroom Massage Theory and Technique; and

60 hours in Ethics, Professionalism and Business Practices.

100 hours of unpaid and supervised clinical or internship experience;

269 Mass. Code Regs. 3.01

Michigan

R 338.705 Supervised curriculum; massage therapists; requirements.

- (2) For students enrolled 1 year after promulgation of this rule, a supervised curriculum shall meet both of the following:
- (a) The requirements of R 338.726.
- (b) A minimum of 625 hours of courses or coursework including both of the following:
 - (i) Classroom instruction as defined in R 338.701(1)(b)(i), including both of the following:
 - (A) Seventy-five hours performing massage therapy services in a student clinic that is supervised by a licensed massage therapist and meets the requirements under R 338.724.
 - (B) Two hundred hours of massage and bodywork assessment, theory, and application instruction.
 - (ii) Classroom instruction as defined in R 338.701(1)(b)(i) or (ii), including all of the following:
 - (A) One hundred twenty-five hours of instruction on the body systems that include anatomy, physiology, and kinesiology.
 - (B) Forty hours of pathology.



- (C) Twenty-five hours of business, professional practice, or ethics instruction with a minimum of 10 hours in ethics.
- (D) One hundred sixty hours of instruction in an area or related field, as determined by the school, that complete the massage therapy program of study.

Mississippi

Miss Code Ann. § 73-67-15 (1) (g) (h) (Rev. 2008); § 73-67-25; (Rev. 2008); § 73-67-35 (1) (Rev. 2008)30-2501-4 Miss. Code R. §4.2

- 1. Two hundred (200) hours in massage theory and practicum, which must include a minimum of the following hours in the specified subject areas:
 - a. Ten (10) hours in legalities including Mississippi massage law and ethics. Students must be furnished complete copies of the most current MS Law 73-67-1 et seq., and the Rules and Regulations for this class;
 - b. Twenty (20) hours in history, benefits, indications and contraindications;
 - c. One hundred (100) hours in massage demonstration and supervised practice, which must include, but is not limited to, client evaluation, stroking, kneading, stretching, friction, percussion, vibration, range of motion, hand held tools and devices designated as t-bars or knobbies, and draping and turning; and
 - d. The remaining seventy (70) hours may expand on any or all of the previous three (3) subject areas including electric hand-held massagers, and/or be related to practical massage.
- 2. Two hundred (200) hours in science of the human body and must include a minimum of the following hours in the specified subject areas:
 - a. Twenty (20) hours in anatomy, including all body systems;
 - b. Twenty (20) hours in physiology, including all body systems;
 - c. Twenty (20) hours in myology/kinesiology;
 - d. Twenty (20) hours in neurology;
 - e. Twenty (20) hours in pathology, including medical terminology; and 25
 - f. The remaining one hundred (100) hours may expand on any or all of the previous six (6) subject areas and/or be related to the science of the human body.
- 3. Two hundred (200) hours in allied modalities and must include, but are not limited to, a minimum of the following classroom hours in the specified subject areas:
 - a. Seven (7) hours in Eastern, European and Western theory/methods;
 - b. Eight (8) hours in cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) and first aid;
 - c. Ten (10) hours in charting and documentation;
 - d. Twenty-five (25) hours in hydrotherapy and infrared heat;
 - e. Twenty (20) hours in referral methods within the health care system; and
 - f. The remaining one hundred thirty (130) hours may expand on any or all of the previous five (5) subject areas, including The Americans with Disabilities Act, and/or be devoted to any approach to massage therapy and wellness, such as trigger points, management, communication, safety, oriental or Eastern massage techniques and specialized populations.
- 4. One hundred (100) hours in supervised student clinic and must include at least fifty (50) practical hands-on one-hour massage therapy sessions. Each session is to be documented on a student clinic log, signed and dated by both the instructor and the student. Supporting session documents shall include;



- a. A client intake form with the client's name and address, as well as reasons for the session, medical history and possible indications and contraindications, and a medical release, signed and dated by the client, instructor and the student therapist;
- b. Session notes documented in SOAP format, signed and dated by the instructor and the student therapist,
- c. An evaluation of the session by the client, including the client's name, the date of the session, and the signatures and date of the client, instructor and the student therapist.

All session documents shall be kept on file at the school for a minimum period of two (2) years. Each completed session shall constitute two (2) hours of student clinic, to include the one hour of actual session and one hour of class time for instruction and evaluation of the session. All 100 hours shall be acquired in the school student clinic. All hands-on sessions must be supervised by an instructor, board licensed in the area being supervised. While students are prevented from accepting any form of compensation for these sessions, and a notice to this effect shall be clearly posted in the clinic reception area, the school may maintain a tip jar for those clients desiring to tip. Any such proceeds shall be used for the benefit of the class as a whole or may be donated to a charitable organization.

Source: Miss Code Ann. § 73-67-15 (1) (g) (h) (Rev. 2008); § 73-67-25; (Rev. 2008); § 73-67-35 (1) (Rev. 2008)30-2501-4 Miss. Code R. §4.2

Missouri

Mo. Code Regs. Ann. tit. 20 §2197-2.010 (F)

500 clock hours of supervised instruction which consisted of:

- A. 300 clock hours dedicated to massage theory and practice techniques.
- B. 100 clock hours dedicated to the study of anatomy and physiology
- C. 50 clock hours dedicated to business practice professional ethics, hygiene and massage law
- D. 50 clock hours dedicated to ancillary therapies...The fifty (50) clock hours shall include but not be limited to CPR and first aid.

Mo. Code Regs. Ann. tit. 20 §2197-2.010 (F)

Montana

37-33-502.

- (a) successfully complete a massage therapy program of a minimum of 500 hours of study that meets or exceeds the curriculum guidelines established by any program or organization accredited by the national commission for certifying agencies or its equivalent or successor...
 - (1) The National Certification Board for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork is a program currently accredited by the National Commission for Certifying Agencies and its curriculum guidelines meet or exceed the requirements of 37-33-502, MCA. Those curriculum guidelines are as follows:
 - (a) 200 hours of in-class instructor-supervised massage and bodywork assessment, theory, and application instruction;
 - (b) 125 hours of instruction on the body systems (anatomy, physiology, and kinesiology);
 - (c) 40 hours of pathology;
 - (d) ten hours of business and ethics instruction (a minimum of six hours in ethics); and



(e) 125 hours of instruction in an area or related field that completes the massage program of study.

24.155.605

Nebraska

38-1703. Approved massage therapy school, defined.

Approved massage therapy school means

- (1) one which is approved by the board,
- (2) one which requires for admission a diploma from an accredited high school or its equivalent,
- (3) one which has attached to its staff a regularly licensed physician and employs one or more competent massage therapists as instructors, and
- (4) one which has a minimum requirement of a continuous course of study and training of not less than one thousand hours distributed over a term of not less than nine months. Such study and training shall consist of one hundred hours of each of the following: Physiology; anatomy; massage; pathology; hydrotherapy; hygiene and practical demonstration; and health service management. The remaining three hundred hours shall be obtained in subject areas related to the clinical practice of massage therapy.

Source: Laws 2007, LB463, § 610.

Nevada

NAC 640C.052 License to practice massage therapy: Requirements for recognition of program by Board. (NRS 640C.320, 640C.400)

The Board will recognize a program of massage therapy pursuant to paragraph (b) of subsection 3 of NRS 640C.400, if the program requires its pupils to complete a minimum of 550 hours of instruction in the following courses before receiving a certificate evidencing successful completion of the program:

- 1. At least 125 hours of instruction in the body's systems, including, without limitation, anatomy, physiology and kinesiology;
- 2. At least 220 hours of instruction which is taken in a classroom setting with hands-on instruction in assessment, theory and application instruction, which must include at least 80 hours in clinical instruction;
- 3. At least 40 hours of instruction in pathology;
- 4. At least 40 hours of instruction in business or ethics or a combined total of at least 40 hours of instruction in business and ethics; and
- 5. At least 125 hours of instruction in other courses of massage therapy in a classroom setting with hands-on instruction.

(Added to NAC by Bd. of Massage Therapy by R108-17, eff. 2-27-2018; A by R040-18, 6-26-2018)

New Hampshire

(3) Completion of a course of study of at least 750 hours, including the following:



- a. Anatomy and physiology;
- b. History, theory, practice, benefits, and contraindications of massage therapy, related modalities, and adjunct therapies within the scope of practice of a massage therapist, including Swedish massage and hydrotherapy;
- c. Hygiene and sanitary practices, including:
 - 1. Blood-borne pathogen standards; and
 - 2. Adult CPR and first aid, as documented by current certification in each area;
- d. Health service management, business practices, and ethics of massage; and
- e. Verifiably documented practical hours, further described in Plc 302.03.

New Jersey

- d) A course of study in massage and bodywork therapy of at least 500 hours shall include:
- 1) At least 90 hours of anatomy/physiology/pathophysiology;
- 2) Ethics and Law;
- 3) Theory and Practice (in-class instruction as to massage and bodywork theory and modalities and in-class demonstration and practice of massage and bodywork modalities);
- 4) Electives directly related to the practice of massage and bodywork therapy; and
- 5) At least 100 hours of clinical practice which is supervised by a faculty member who is present on-site while services are being performed and is either a licensed massage and bod+F31+F32

New Mexico

16.7.4.12 MINIMUM CURRICULA OF MASSAGE THERAPY TRAINING: The applicant must have completed at least the 650-hour minimum curricula of massage therapy training. The massage therapy training must meet the following minimum curriculum requirements:

A. one hundred sixty-five (165) hours minimum of anatomy and physiology, to include:

- (1) physiology;
- (2) anatomy;
- (3) kinesiology; and
- (4) 40 hours minimum of pathology.
- B. one hundred fifty (150) hours minimum of training in massage therapy as defined in 16.7.1.7 NMAC.
 - (1) the massage therapy training shall include contraindications of massage therapy; 12 16.7.4 NMAC
 - (2) a minimum of 100 hours of hands-on training must be completed before the student is allowed to begin a clinical practicum as defined in 16.7.1.7 NMAC.
- C. seventy-five hours minimum of general instruction to include.
 - (1) business; effective October 31, 2021, minimum of 20 hours;
 - (2) hydrotherapy; effective October 31, 2021, minimum of eight hours;
 - (3) 30 hours minimum of professional ethics;
 - (4) four hours of first aid; and



- (5) four hours of cardiopulmonary resuscitation to include automatic external defibrillation (CPR/AED).
- D. Electives may include:
 - (1) additional massage therapy;
 - (2) related hands-on modalities;
 - (3) additional anatomy and physiology;
 - (4) clinical practicum (not to exceed 150 hours);
 - (5) counseling;
 - (6) herbology;
 - (7) homeopathy;
 - (8) nutrition;
 - (9) breathing and stretching techniques;
 - (10) theory; and
 - (11) other courses with prior board approval. See 16.7.4.14 NMAC for instructions.
- E. The total number of hours in the massage therapy program is a minimum of 650 hours.

New York

§ 52.15 Massage Therapy

- a. A program of instruction in massage therapy may be offered at a degree-granting institution or by a school or institute of massage therapy which meets the requirements of this Part.
- b. Curriculum. The institution shall maintain a satisfactory program of not less than 1,000 clock hours of classroom instruction or the semester hour equivalent, as prescribed as follows:
 - 1. 200 clock hours in anatomy, physiology, and neurology, provided that a minimum of 50 clock hours of instruction is in neurology;
 - 150 clock hours in myology and/or kinesiology;
 - 3. 100 clock hours in general pathology, including instruction related to skin, neuromuscular, and soft tissue conditions;
 - 4. 75 clock hours in the subject of hygiene, first aid, and other areas related to the practice of massage therapy, including but not limited to instruction in: infection control procedures; cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) resulting in certification; the recognition of abused and/or neglected patients; and the uses, effects, and chemical ingredients of powders, oils, and other products used in the practice of massage therapy;
 - 5. 150 clock hours in general theory and techniques in the fundamentals of western massage therapy and oriental massage therapy, provided that a minimum of 50 clock hours of instruction is given in each type of massage therapy; and
 - 6. 325 clock hours of additional instruction and student practice in massage therapy techniques, within the practice of massage therapy as defined in section 7801 of the Education Law, provided that each student shall be required to directly apply massage therapy techniques to another individual for a minimum of 150 clock hours and that student practice shall be under the on-site supervision of a person licensed to practice massage therapy pursuant to the requirements of section 7804 of the Education Law or authorized to practice massage therapy by subdivision one of section 7805 of the Education Law.

Last Updated: June 9, 2009



North Carolina

.0620 The core curriculum shall contain the following hours of specific course work that are consistent with the school's mission and educational objectives:

- (a) 200 hours in the fundamental theory and practice of massage and bodywork therapy that is designed to produce comprehensive entry-level skills in the application of direct manipulation to the soft tissues of the human body, and is based in therapeutic methods consistent with the definition set forth in G.S. 90-622(3) such as Swedish massage, acupressure, shiatsu, deep muscle massage, trigger point therapy, and connective tissue bodywork. Of the 200 hours in this category, at least 100 hours shall be in the application of hands-on methods. The balance of the hours shall include client assessment skills, indications and contraindications for treatment, body mechanics, draping procedures, standard practices for hygiene and control of infectious diseases, and the history of massage and bodywork therapy;
- (b) 100 hours in anatomy and physiology related to the practice of massage and bodywork therapy that shall include the structure and function of the human body and common pathologies;
- (c) 15 hours in professional ethics, and North Carolina laws and rules for the practice of massage and bodywork therapy;
- (d) 15 hours in business management practices related to the practice of massage and bodywork therapy;
- (e) 20 hours in psychological concepts related to the practice of massage and bodywork therapy, including dynamics of the client/therapist relationship, professional communication skills, the mind-body connection, and boundary functions;
- (f) 150 hours in other courses related to the practice of massage and bodywork therapy. The courses may include additional hands-on techniques, specific applications, adjunctive modalities, in-depth anatomy and physiology, kinesiology, psychological concepts, or supervised clinical practice. First Aid or CPR shall not be included in this category. Techniques that are considered exempt from licensure pursuant to G.S. 90-624(6) or (7), and that are further defined by Rule .0203(a) constitute up to 50 hours of the 150 hours in this category.

North Dakota

49-02-03. Required curriculum.

- 1. The supervised required hours of classroom instruction received by an applicant must satisfy the following curriculum requirements:
 - a. One hundred fifty hours of anatomy, physiology, and kinesiology.
 - b. Forty hours of pathology.
 - c. Ten hours of first aid and CPR. At the time of graduation, the applicant must hold a valid current CPR card certified by a nationally recognized organization to provide CPR instruction.
 - d. One hundred and thirty hours of introductory massage therapy courses, including basic and allied modalities, contraindications, sanitation, disease prevention, and massage theory.
 - e. One hundred seventy-five hours of practical application and clinical practice.



- 2. The applicant must also satisfy the following curriculum requirements which do not require supervised classroom instruction:
 - a. Fifty hours of business practices, career development, and professional ethics.
 - b. Seventy-five hours of clinical practice.
- c. One hundred twenty hours of other courses directly related to massage therapy. January 1, 2017

Ohio

4731-1-16 Massage therapy curriculum requirements.

- (A) To qualify to receive a certificate of good standing for a course of instruction in massage therapy, a school's course of instruction shall:
- (1) Consist of both practical and theoretical instruction meeting one of the following requirements:
 - (a) For classes enrolling no later than December 30, 2005, a period of not less than one year and a minimum of six hundred clock hours; or
 - (b) For classes enrolling on and after December 31, 2005, a minimum of seven hundred fifty clock hours .
- (2) Beginning with classes enrolling on or after December 31, 2005, teach at least the minimum required hours in the following subjects in dedicated clock hours, as appropriate to massage therapy:
 - (a) Anatomy and physiology; pathology: three hundred twenty-five clock hours;
 - (b) Massage theory and practical, including hygiene: three hundred twenty-five clock hours;
 - (c) Ethics: twenty-five clock hours, at least ten of which shall be in a class dedicated exclusively to ethics. For purposes of this rule, "ethics" shall be defined to include sexual boundary issues and impairment and chemical dependency issues;
 - (d) Business and law: twenty-five hours; and
 - (e) Such other subjects as the board deems necessary and appropriate to massage therapy: fifty clock hours; and
- (3) Require that each student, prior to completing the course of instruction, perform, on a licensed massage therapist, at least one therapeutic massage. The school shall ensure that the student massage is evaluated as to whether the student demonstrates at least minimally acceptable competency.
- (B) Educational objectives shall be clearly defined and simply stated and shall indicate what the educational program can do for reasonably diligent students.



- (C) The course of instruction shall be outlined in detail showing major subjects and clock hours devoted to each subject, entrance requirements and occupational objectives.
- (D) A limited branch school shall submit for approval on an appropriate form its daily or weekly schedule of instruction. The approved schedule shall be made available whenever requested by the board.
- (E) Students may be given credit for off-site clinical activities. Such credit may not exceed ten per cent of the required clock hours in the theory and practical category of the program. The off-site clinical activities shall be conducted under the direction and on-site supervision of an appropriately licensed practitioner. The school shall be required to enter into a written affiliation agreement with a representative of the facility where the off-site clinical activities are being provided. The student participating in off-site clinical activities shall identify him or herself as a massage therapy student and shall obtain signed acknowledgement of receipt of that notice from the patient. 1/31/2019

Oklahoma

provides a certificate and certified transcript from a state-licensed massage school showing successful completion of at least five hundred (500) hours of formal education in massage therapy. Oklahoma ADC 175:20-5-1

Oregon

334-010-0005

- (4) Transcripts must include a minimum of 625 hours of certified classes. The 625 hours must include the knowledge and skills identified in OAR 334-010-0047 competencies and must be comprised of:
 - (a) A minimum of 200 hours of Anatomy & Physiology, Pathology, and Kinesiology; and
 - (b) A minimum of 300 hours of Massage Theory and Practical Application, Clinical Practice, Business Development, Communication and Ethics, and Sanitation. Hydrotherapy may be included as part of the 300 hours.
 - (c) The additional 125 hours can be in Anatomy & Physiology, Pathology, Kinesiology, Massage or Bodywork Theory and Practical Application, Clinical Practice, Business Development, Communication, Ethics, Sanitation or Hydrotherapy.

Pennsylvania

600 hours of in-class instruction:

175 contact hours in anatomy and physiology, kinesiology and pathology, including training in HIV and related risks

At least 250 contact hours in massage therapy and bodywork assessment, theory and practice, including sanitation safety and hygiene

25 contact hours in professional ethics and business and law



150 contact hours in related courses appropriate to a massage therapy curriculum, including CPR

Instruction may be didactic or clinical.

Pa. Code §20.11

Rhode Island

The curriculum shall have consisted of at least five hundred (500) hours

Title 216, Chapter 40, Subchapter 05, Part 10 Massage Therapists 10.5 (2) which included study and practical training specifically designed to provide knowledge and skills necessary for the practice of massage. The content of the five hundred (500) hour program shall include no less than the following classroom subjects, including practical training:

- a. Anatomy, physiology and kinesiology
- b. Supervised theory and practice
- c. Clinical Assessment and bodywork competency
- d. Pathology
- e. Elective subjects, including first aid and cardiopulmonary resuscitation {CPR}, and any of the following: ethics, boundaries, regulations and guidelines for professional practice, business practices/law, office procedures

South Carolina

Schools must be approved and have a curriculum that meets the standards set forth in regulation by the department.

§40-30-110

(b) completes a massage therapy program of five hundred hours of supervised study at an approved massage/bodywork school. Approved schools are those found by the Department to have met the minimum qualifications as set forth by the Commission on Higher Education for such programs. Chapter 77-100

South Dakota

20:76:01:06 ...the required training for licensure includes:

- (1) One hundred twenty-five hours of training in the body's systems and anatomy, physiology, and kinesiology;
- (2) Two hundred hours of training in massage and bodywork assessment, theory, and application;
- (3) Forty hours of training in pathology;
- (4) Ten hours total of training in business and ethics, with a minimum of six hours in ethics; and



(5) One hundred twenty-five hours of additional training in an area or related field that theoretically completes a massage program of study.

Fifty minutes of supervised classroom instruction is equal to one hour of training.

The board may approve an application from an applicant with required training from a combination of two or more recognized facilities. Online training is acceptable to meet the training requirements for licensure. At least 200 hours of hands-on training from a recognized facility must be completed.

The board may recognize qualifying continuing education to fulfill required training for licensure. December, 2018

Tennessee

Rule 0870-01-.05 The transcript must carry the official seal of the institution(s) and must show that the applicant has successfully completed a massage, bodywork, and/or somatic therapy curriculum(s) consisting of no less than five hundred (500) classroom hours, specifically delineated as follows:

- 1. Two hundred (200) classroom hours of the five hundred (500) classroom hour requirement shall consist of sciences including, but not limited to, anatomy, physiology-Western and/or/Eastern, kinesiology, pathology, HIV/AIDS and blood-borne pathogens, and hygiene (including standard precautions). Other sciences related to the human body may be included with Board approval.
- 2. Two hundred (200) classroom hours of the five hundred classroom (500) hour requirement shall consist of basic massage theory and practice including, but not limited to, history, benefits, indications, contraindications, demonstration and supervised practice, client assessment/evaluation, soft tissue manipulations including: gliding, kneading, friction, compression, vibration, percussion, stretching, joint movements, draping, positioning, turning, feedback, charting/documentation, proper body mechanics, and self-care.
- 3. Eighty-five (85) classroom hours of the five hundred (500) classroom hour requirement shall consist of related subjects including, but not limited to, business standards of practice, communication skills, CPR/First Aid, the Americans with Disabilities Act, referral methods, specialized populations, and specialized and adjunct therapies/modalities (including hydrotherapy).
- 4. Ten (10) classroom hours of the five hundred (500) classroom hour requirement shall consist of ethics instruction.
- 5. Five (5) classroom hours of the five hundred (500) classroom hour requirement shall consist of instruction regarding Tennessee massage statutes and regulations.

Tenn. Comp. R. & Regs. 0870-02-.02, Aug, 2017

Texas

117.20 (8) satisfactorily complete massage therapy studies in a minimum 500-hour department approved course at a licensed massage school in which includes at least:



- (A) 200 hours of massage therapy techniques and theory and the practice of manipulation of soft tissue, with at least 125 hours of Swedish massage therapy techniques;
- (B) 50 hours of anatomy;
- (C) 25 hours of physiology;
- (D) 50 hours of kinesiology;
- (E) 40 hours of pathology;
- (F) 20 hours of hydrotherapy;
- (G) 45 hours of massage therapy laws and rules, business practices and professional ethics;
- (H) 20 hours of health, hygiene, first aid, universal precautions, and cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR); and
- (I) 50-hour internship program.

16 Tex. Admin. Code §117.20 February, 2020

Utah

R156-47b-302. Qualifications for Licensure as a Massage Therapist - Massage School Curriculum Standards.

In accordance with Subsection 58-47b-302(2)(e)(i)(A), an applicant must graduate from a school of massage with a curriculum, which at the time of graduation, meets the standards set forth in this section.

- (1) Curricula shall:
- (a) be registered with the Utah Department of Commerce, Division of Consumer Protection; or
- (b) be registered with an accrediting agency recognized by the United States Department of Education.
 - (2) Curricula shall be a minimum of 600 hours and shall include the following:
 - (a) anatomy, physiology and kinesiology 125 hours;
 - (b) pathology 40 hours;
- (c) massage theory, massage techniques including the five basic Swedish massage strokes, and hands on instruction 285 hours;
 - (d) professional standards, ethics and business practices 35 hours;
 - (e) sanitation and universal precautions including CPR and first aid 15 hours;
 - (f) clinic 100 hours; and
 - (g) other related massage subjects as approved by the Division in collaboration with the Board.
- (3) The Division, in collaboration with the Board, may consider supplemental coursework of an applicant who has completed the minimum 600 curricula hours, but has incidental deficiencies in one or more of the categories specified in R156-47b-302(2)(a) through (f).

Utah Admin. Code r. 156-47b-302

Virginia

500 hours of training from a massage therapy program, certified or approved by the State Council of Higher Education; or an agency in another state, the District of Columbia or a United States territory that



approves educational programs, notwithstanding the provisions of §23-1-226 of the Code of Virginia 18 VA. Admin. Code §90-50-40

Washington

WAC 246-830-430 Training. (1) A massage school, massage program or apprenticeship program education and training must have a curriculum and system of education and training consistent with its particular area of practice. The education and training in massage therapy will consist of a minimum of five hundred hours. An hour of education and training is defined as fifty minutes of actual instructional time. Certification in American Red Cross first aid and American Heart Association CPR or the equivalent is required. CPR training must be in person. This requirement is in addition to the five hundred hours of education and training in massage therapy. These five hundred hours are not to be completed in less than six months and must consist of the following:

- (a) One hundred thirty hours of anatomy, physiology, and kinesiology including palpation, range of motion, and physics of joint function. There must be a minimum of forty hours of kinesiology.
- (b) Fifty hours of pathology including indications and contraindications consistent with the particular area of practice.
- (c) Two hundred sixty-five hours of theory and practice of mas-sage to include techniques, remedial movements, body mechanics of the therapist, and the impact of techniques on pathologies. A maximum of fifty of these hours may include time spent in a student clinic. Hydrotherapy must be included when consistent with the particular area of practice.
- (d) Fifty-five hours of clinical/business practices, at a minimum to include hygiene, recordkeeping, medical terminology, professional ethics, business management, human behavior, client or patient inter-action, and state and local laws.
- (2) To receive credit in an apprenticeship program for previous education and training, this education and training must have been completed within the five-year period prior to enrollment in the apprenticeship program.
- (3) A student attending a massage school, massage program, trans-fer program or apprenticeship program outside the state of Washington must pass a jurisprudence exam.
- (4) A massage school, massage program, transfer program or apprenticeship program may exempt a student from curriculum requirements when the student's successful performance on an examination that the massage school, massage program, transfer program or apprenticeship program administers demonstrates that the student has attained competency in that subject area as a result of prior postsecondary learning or training.

Wash. Admin. Code §246-830-430

West Virginia

Section 7 Program Standards

7.1.2 The schools shall offer a program consisting of a minimum of five hundred (500) classroom hours of supervised instruction. Such program shall contain the following hours of specific course work which are consistent with the school's mission and education objectives:



- 7.1.2.1 Two hundred (200) hours in the fundamental theory and practice of massage and bodywork therapy, which include a minimum of one hundred (100) hours in application of hands-on methods; the balance of such hours shall include client assessment skills, indications, and contraindications for treatment, body mechanics, draping procedures, standard practices for hygiene and control of infectious diseases, and the history of massage and bodywork therapy;
- 7.1.2.2 One hundred (100) hours in anatomy and physiology, which will include the structure and function of the human body and common pathologies;
 - 7.1.2.3 Fifty (50) hours in the following areas:
- a. Fifteen (15) hours in professional ethics, and West Virginia laws and rules for the practice of massage and bodywork therapy; West Virginia Law and Rules, (scope) of Practice
- b. Fifteen (15) hours in business practices related to the field of massage and bodywork therapy; and
- c. Twenty (20) hours in dynamics of the therapist/client relationships, communication skills, and boundary functions;
- 7.1.2.4 One hundred fifty (150) hours in other courses related to the practice of massage and bodywork therapy; such courses may include additional hands-on techniques, specific applications, spa massage, clinical massage, adjunctive modalities, in-depth anatomy and physiology, kinesiology, movement education, or supervised clinical practice. First Aid or CPR may not be included in this category.

Wisconsin

MTBT 3.01 Approved Training Program

- (5) An approved training program shall consist of a minimum
- of 600 classroom hours of study and shall include the following subject areas:
 - (a) One hundred twenty-five classroom hours in anatomy, physiology, pathology, and kinesiology.
 - (b) Fifty classroom hours in business, law and ethics, which shall include at least 6 classroom hours in the laws of this state and rules of the board relating to the practice of massage therapy or bodywork therapy required by s. MTBT 2.01 (3) (b).
 - (c) Three hundred classroom hours in massage therapy or bodywork therapy theory, technique, and practice, which shall include 100 classroom hours of supervised hands-on practice.
 - (d) Twenty classroom hours in student clinic.
 - (e) Five classroom hours in adult cardiopulmonary resuscitation and standard first aid. The requirement of this paragraph may be alternatively satisfied as provided under s. MTBT 2.01 (3)
 - (f) One hundred classroom hours in additional massage therapy or bodywork therapy course offerings meeting the objectives of the course of instruction. Wis. Admin. Code MTBT §3.01 (5) July 2019