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l BEFORE THE NEV.A.DA STATE BOARD OF 
MASSAGE THERAPY 

2 

3 In the Matter of: ORDER FOR PROBATION 

4 Kendal L. Priestly, 
Licensed Massage Therapist 

5 License No. NVMT.10263 

6 

7 

8 
IT APPEARING on January 8, 2020, Kendal L. Priestly ("Priestly") appeared before the 

9 
Nevada Board of Massage Therapy ("Board')) for an application review. 

10 
The Board granted Priestly a license to practice massage therapy and immediately placed 

Priestly's license on probation for a period of two (2) years. 
11 

ORDER 
12 

IT rs HEREBY ORDERED: 

Priestly will attend probation orientation. 

14 2. Priestly shall submit to a background check within one year of the date of this Order and

15 within two years of the date of this Order at Priestly's expense.

16 3. Priestly must refrain from providing outcall services.

17 
4. Priestly must report all contact with law enforcement personnel within forty-eight (48)

18 
hours after such contact occurs.

Priestly must notify the Board of any changes in her employment within 15 days.

6. Priestly must provide any changes in address or phone number to the Board office within
20 

15 days.

21 7. Priestly is to submit to random chug test at Priestly's expense.

22 8. Priestly must cooperate fully with the Board staff to administrate terms of her probation.

23 9, This order shall not be construed as excluding or reducing any criminal or civil penalties o 

2/J sanction or other remedies that may be applicable under federal, state or local laws. 

10. Priestly' s license shall be marked "Restricted" throughout the probationary period.

11. Priestly shall meet with the Board or its representatives upon request and shall cooperate

with representatives of the Board in her supervision and investigation of Priestly's
27 

compliance with the terms and conditions of this Order.
28 
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12. 1his Order will become part of Priestly's permanent record, will become public 

information, will be published with the list of disciplinary actions the Board has taken, 

and may be reported to any national repository which records disciplinary action taken 

against licensees or holders of certificates or any agency or another state, which regulates 

the practice of massage therapy. The Board may use the Order in any subsequent hearings. 

13. Priestly acknowledges that if she violates one or more of the terms of this Order, the 

Board may revoke or invoke other appropriate discipline against her license to practice 

massage therapy; subject only to the requirement that the Board shall, prior to such 

disciplinary action, conduct a hearing in accordance with Chapters 233B, 622A, and 640C 

of the Nevada Revised Statutes for the limited purpose of establishing that there has, in 

fact, been a violation of the requirements of this Order. In the event that a violation of this 

Order is alleged, Priestly agrees to surrender her license to the Executive Director, if so 

requested, and refrain from practicing as a massage therapist until an entry of a final order 

of the Board or a court of competent jurisdiction, whichever last occurs, regarding the 

potential violation. Priestly agrees to waive her right to appeal the substantive legal basis 

of the disciplinary action. In the event an alleged violation of this Order is taken to hearin 

and the facts which constitute the violation are determined to be not proven, no 

disciplinary action shall be taken by the Board. 

14. In the event other misconduct is reported to the Board, this Order may be used as evidence 

against Priestly to establish a pattern of behavior and for the purpose of proving additional 

acts of misconduct. 

15. Nevada State Board of Massage Therapy retains jurisdiction in this case until all condition 

have been met to the satisfaction of the Board. 

NEVADA STATE BOARD OF MASSAGE THERAPY 

Board Chair 

Date 

2 
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c. Review Application of Kendal Priestly. (For Discussion and Possible Action) 

Kendal Priestly was present. 

Teresa Lopez recused as Kendal Priestly was one of her students. 

Executive Director, Sandy Anderson - Ms. Priestlis massage application is before you 
today due to potential criminal history that could not be approved administratively. Ms. 
Priestly was arrested on December 4, 2015 and February 25, 2016 by Las Vegas 
Metropolitan Police Department. Ms. Priestly is requesting to be granted a license 
under NRS 640C.400 or 420 and is before you today for review under NRS 640C.700. 
Staff's recommendation is to approve a license with no restrictions. 

April Whiting motioned to grant a two (2) year probationary license, must report all 
contact with law enforcement within forty-eight ( 48) hours, background annually at 
Ms. Priestley's expense, random drug testing at Ms. Priestley's expense, notify the 
Board of any change of address within 15 days, refrain from providing outcall services 



Nevada State Board of Massage Therapy 
Meeting Minutes - Janilllly 8, 2020 
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and notify the Board of any changes in her employment, seconded by Deirdre Strunk. 
Motion carries. Teresa Lopez recused. 
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Nevada State Board of Massage Therapy 
1755 E. Plumb Lane Suite 252 

Reno, NV 89502 
Reno Phone (775) 687-9955 

Fax (775) 786-4264 
Email: nvmassagebd@state.nv.us 

Website: http://massagetherapy.nv.gov 

January 17, 2020 

Kendal L. Priestly 
7512 Bavaria St. Apt 101 
Las Vegas, NV 89128 

Re: Probation Agreement, January 8, 2020 Board Meeting 

Ms. Priestly: 

After a review of your application by the Nevada State Board of Massage Therapy (Board), the Board approved 
a probationary license for two (2) years with the following conditions: 

Priestly will attend probation orientation. 
2. Priestly shall submit to a background check within one year of the date of this Order and within two 

years of the date of this Order at Priestly's expense. 
3, Priestly must refrain from providing outcall services. 
4. Priestly must report all contact with law enforcement personnel within forty-eight (48) hours after 

such contact occurs. 
5, Priestly must notify the Board of any changes in her employment within 15 days. 
6. Priestly must provide any changes in address or phone number to the Board office within 15 days. 
7, Priestly is to submit to random drug test at Priestly' s expense. 
8. Priestly must cooperate fully with the Board staff to administrate terms of her probation. 

Your Probation Orientation has been scheduled for 10:00 a.m. (PSDT) Friday, January 24, 2020 at 1621 E. 
Flamingo Rd. Ste 16A, Las Vegas, NV 89119. 

If you have any questions, please contact Tereza Van Hom at (775) 687-9953. 

Executive Director 

http://massagetherapy.nv.gov
mailto:nvmassagebd@state.nv.us


Nevada State Board of Massage Therapy 
1755 E. Plumb Lane Suite 252 

Reno, NV 89502 
Reno Phone (775) 687-9955 

Fax(775) 786-4264 
Email: nvmassagebd@state.nv.us 

Website: http://massagetherapy.nv.gov 

I, V)t(\dQ\ 2(\e_s\ly have attended OlientaHon on

y1-'·\ \ l-Q informing me of my 
resp nsibilities with the Terms and Conditions of my Agreement/Order with the 
Nevada State Board of Massage Therapy. I understand that I am accountable for 
the full compliance of this agreement. 

% 
Name
,PwiJ 

1Dat Date 

NSBMT 

JAN 2 7 2020 

RECEIVED 

http://massagetherapy.nv.gov
mailto:nvmassagebd@state.nv.us
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Tereza Van Horn 

From: Kendal P. <kendal.priestly@gmail.com> 
Sent: Monday, July 20, 2020 5:11 PM 
To: Nevada Board of Massage Therapists 
Subject: Probationary license appeal request 

Hello, I was recently granted a 2year probationary license on 1/8/2020. The restricted license doesn't allow me to 
provide out ca II or work for myself. 

The Clark County School District just released a completely online/home school reopening plan for the 2020 school year. 
I have a child in elementary school and am a single parent household. 

Is there anyway I can appeal this restriction on my license? 

Thank you 
Kendal Priestly 
702-945-8602 



Tereza Van Horn 

From: Kendal P. <kendal.priestly@gmail.com> 
Sent: Wednesday, July 22, 2020 1 :03 PM 
To: Nevada Board of Massage Therapists 
Subject: Re: Probationary license appeal request 

Yes I'm not requesting for the probationary decision to change I would just ask to remove the one stipulation that 
doesn't allow me to work for myself. The school district closing the schools leaves me with a 2nd grader who now has no 
where to go while I am at work and I'll have to take a significant reduction in hours and income because of it. 

So, if I could please be put on the agenda for the November meeting and if possible be notified of any sooner meetings 
that have openings. 

Thank you 
Kendal Priestly 

On Jul 22, 2020, at 10:02 AM, Nevada Board of Massage Therapists <nvmassagebd@lmt.nv.gov> wrote: 

Ms. Priestly, 

You cannot appeal the original decision; however, you can ask for probation review. This review would give you an 
opportunity to have the Board review the circumstances and your current probation terms. 

However; our next available meeting is November 4, 2020. Our meeting scheduled for August is not an available option. 

Due to COVID-19 we are having more meetings than scheduled due to hearings and other circumstances, We may have 
a unscheduled one that we could add you too, however, we do not know at this time, when that will be. Once we do 
know, you could be notified and decide if that works for your schedule. 

Please advise. 

Sincerely, 
Tereza 
Nevada State Board Of Massage Therapy 
(775} 687-9955 (office) 
(775) 786-4264 (fax) 
www.massagethe ra py. nv .gov 

- - ---Original Message-----

From: Kendal P. <kendal.priestly@gmaii.com> 
Sent: Monday, July 20, 2020 5:11 PM 
To: Nevada Board of Massage Therapists <nvmassagebd@lmt.nv.gov> 

Subject: Probationary license appeal request 

1 

mailto:nvmassagebd@lmt.nv.gov
mailto:kendal.priestly@gmaii.com
mailto:nvmassagebd@lmt.nv.gov


Hello, I was recently granted a 2year probationary !icense on 1/8/2020. The restricted license doesn't allow me to 
provide out call or work for myself. 

The Clark County School District just released a completely online/home school reopening plan for the 2020 school year. 
I have a child in elementary school and am a single parent household. 

Is there anyway I can appeal this restriction on my license? 

Than_k you 
KendaI Priestly 
702-945-8602 

2 



Nevada State Board of M111111 Th•·rapy 
1755 E. Plumb Lane Suite 252 

Reno, NV 89502 
Phone (775) 687-9955 
Fax (775) 786-4264 

Ema111 nvmassagebd@state,ny,us 
Website: htto:l/massagetherapy,nv.gov 

WAIVER OF OPEN MEETING LAW SERVICE REQUIREMENTS 

I, Ke_ndo_\ L '.J>ri £.Stly , the undersigned, being apprised 
Firat Name Ml Last Nam 

of the requirements under NRS 241 .033 and NRS 241 .034 for a public body to notify a 
person by certified mail 21 working days in advance or by personal service 5 working 
days in advance of a meeting in which that public body will consider that person's 
character, professional competence, or physical or mental health or take administrative 
action against that person, knowingly and voluntarily waive these service and 
notification requirements as to the undersigned for (an) agenda item(s) pertaining to 
the undersigned at the meeting of the Nevada State Board of Massage Therapy set for 
9:00 a.m. on Wednesday, July 29, 2020, via Zoom: 

https://zopm.us/i/95920881 130?pwd=UDZvQ05acnZleC9gdGczDJ9BQzU4UT09 

After Registering. you will receive a confinnation email containing lnfonnation about Joining the maetin 

Meeting ID: 959 2088 1130 
Password: 908735 
SIP: 95920BB1130@zoomcrc,com 

L 
First Ml 

https://zopm.us/i/95920881130?pwd=UDZvQ05acnZleC9gdGczDJ9BQzU4UT09
https://htto:l/massagetherapy,nv.gov


Nevada State Board of Massage Therapy 
· 1755 E. Plumb Lane Suite 252 

Reno, NV 89502 
Phone (775} 687-9955 
Fax (775) 786-4264 

Emall: nvmassagebd@state,nv.us 
Website: http://massagetherapy.nv.gov 

WAIVER OF OPEN MEETING LAW SERVICE REQUIREMENTS 

of the requirements under NRS 241 .033 and NRS 241 .034 for a public body to notify a 
person by certified mail 21 working days in advance or by personal service 5 working 
days in advance of a meeting in which that public body will consider that person's 
character, professional competence, or physical or mental health or take administrative 
action against that person, knowingly and voluntarily waive these service and 
notification requirements as to the undersigned for (an) agenda item(s) pertaining to 
the undersigned at the meeting of the Nevada State Board of Massage Therapy set for 
9:00 a.m. on Wednesday, August 19, 2020, via Zoom: 

https://zoom.us/j/98844482882?pwd=YnVWeHBaMEtWZWFNZmdJRXRwYlpgQT09 

After Registering, you will receive a confirmation email containing information about joining the meeting. 

Meeting ID: 988 4448 2882 
Password: 246012 
SIP: 98844482882@zoomcrc.com 

Dated this ___s___ day of Au3vs-1- , 2020. 

mailto:98844482882@zoomcrc.com
https://zoom.us/j/98844482882?pwd=YnVWeHBaMEtWZWFNZmdJRXRwYlpgQT09
http://massagetherapy.nv.gov
mailto:nvmassagebd@state,nv.us


KendaI Priestly 

Simple Business Plan 

Business Overview: 

My business will be a sole proprietorship under my name. I will offer mobile massage therapy 
services to clients at their homes. I will operate it from a home-based office but I will be able to 
provide services to clients in the city of Las Vegas, North Las Vegas, and also Clark County. I will 
carry insurance coverage for my business through the AMTA. 

Operations: 

My business hours will be flexible to the schedule of the clients. Clients will be able to book in 
advanced or the same day depending on my availability. I will travel in my own vehicle to the 
client's location. I will provide all necessary supplies (massage table, linens, and lotions/oils) for 
the service. Clients may book 60 min, 90 min, or 120 min massage session times 

60 min ......... $60 

90 min ......... $90 

120 min ....... $120 

Marketing: 

In the early stages, my advertising will primarily come from word of mouth and my clients will 
predominantly consist of family and friends. Clients will be able to find more information on my 
services through websites like massage book or social media platforms. Once I've established 
my business, I will begin using a third party company like soothe or zeel to further market/offer 
my services. 

Business Goals: 

This will start off as a side venture that I can use to make extra income on top of my current 
employment. I want to keep my expectations modest, since this is my first time starting a 
business but if I can make even $300 extra a month it would go a long way into helping my 
family live more comfortably. My long-term goal is to be able to build upon this business and 
expand it. In 3 years, I envision adding an on-site location for my massage services by renting 
my own massage room at a local spa or salon. 

Start up: 

The necessary licenses needed for my business include the Nevada State License, City of Las 
Vegas License, Clark County License, and the City of North Las Vegas License. I've contacted 
each jurisdiction and totaled the estimated costs for all required licenses to be an estimated 
$575-$675 in fees. Through a family funded loan, I will be able to cover that cost initially. I can 
re-pay that loan through a savings plan in about 6 weeks by saving my cash tips from my 
current employment. 

pg. 1 



Kendal Priestly 

Business Licensing Fee's 

Nevada Massage Therapy License 

Nevada State License fee 

City of Las Vegas fee 

City of North Las Vegas fee 

Clark County License fee 

Total fee estimated cost 

$480 

$200 

$150 + $50 (home-based business fee) 

$100 fixed fee (annually) + $30 (processing fee) 

$45 + (% annual revenue fee) 

$1,055-1,155 

pg, 2 




