

Email: nvmassagebd@state.nv.us
Website: http://massagetherapy.nv.gov

Nevada State Board of Massage Therapy

1755 E. Plumb Lane Suite 252 Reno, NV 89502 Phone (775) 687-9955 Fax (775) 786-4264

Frequently Asked Questions

1. Q. Contact information for The Nevada State Board of Massage?

1755 E. Plumb Lane Suite 252 Reno, NV 89502 Phone: (775) 687-9955

Fax: (775) 786-4264

Email: nvmassagebd@state.nv.us

2. Q. What are your office hours?

Monday through Friday 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
The office is closed weekends, all State Holidays and Board Meeting dates.

3. Q. How do I check on the status of my application?

In order to check the status of your application, you can email us at nvmassagebd@state.nv.us. Please allow up to 2 business days for a response.

4. Q. I have my Nevada State Board of Massage Therapist License. Do I need any other licenses to do massage in Nevada?

Contact your local jurisdiction where you do business to find out the requirements for Business Licensing.

5. Q. Who does not have to be licensed under the Nevada State Massage Therapy Law?

NRS640C.100 lists those who are exempt from obtaining a license. Please refer to this section for a list of those who are not required to have a Nevada State Massage Therapy License. http://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-640C.html#NRS640CSec050

6. Q. Why must I obtain a Nevada State Board of Massage Therapists license?

NRS640C.400 requires you to have a license. The license will be valid throughout the State of Nevada and you will not have to go through multiple background investigations when you obtain your license. The public concerns regarding health, safety and welfare will be met by the licensing and regulating of Massage Therapists and you will be perceived as a professional. You will be regulated by your peers.

7. Q. How do I obtain an application request?

Please visit our website <u>www.massagetherapy.nv.gov</u> please click the APPLICANTS tab, and then "How to apply for a license." You will then locate the Application Request Form. Follow the instructions and return the form along with the supporting documents to our office. To submit your Application Request online click on the Online Application Process link also found under the APPLICANTS tab.

8. Q. How long will it take for me to have my license in hand after I apply?

The massage application processes can take up to 1-3 months depending on how quickly we receive all required documents, background check and if an application must go before the board for review. Live Scan results can take up to 4 weeks and fingerprint cards take up to 6-8 weeks. Depending on criminal history, additional documentation may be required. Board Meetings are scheduled every 10 weeks.

9. Q. How many hours of schooling do I need to become licensed in the State of Nevada?

You will have to complete a course in Massage Therapy of at least 500 hours.

10. Q. I received my schooling in another Country. What do I need to do to submit my transcripts translated to English?

You will need to have your transcripts translated into English from an interpreter in Nevada. Your school must submit official transcripts directly to our office.

Las Vegas Translations Contact: (702) 671-4578 Reno Translations Contact: (775) 323-7883 Nevada Hispanic Services: (775) 826-1818

11. Q. I want to take an online Massage Program for my core curriculum. Will this qualify me for licensure?

No, the Commission on Post Secondary Education does not recognize any distance learning of any type for a Massage Therapy Program. Therefore, the Nevada State Board of Massage Therapists does not recognize any distance education for a core curriculum Massage Program.

12. Q. Does Nevada have a Multiple Tiered Licensing?

No. Nevada offers one level of licensing.

13. Q. My School is on your "Schools Not Approved in Nevada" list. What do I need to do in order to apply?

If you went to school prior to the date on the list you will need to provide our office with the following information from the time frame you attended Massage School:

- (a) A list of the instructors of the training;
- (b) Any texts used as study guides for the training; and
- (c) Certificates of completion for the training which evidence that the applicant has satisfied the number of training hours required by the Commission on Postsecondary Education for a program of massage therapy.

DO NOT SEND NOTEBOOKS.

If you attended school after the date listed your Application will not be accepted by the Nevada State Board of Massage Therapists.

14. Q. My education was obtained in California. It is not on your list of "Schools not Approved in Nevada" does my Application need to go before the Board for an Application Review?

Yes. All applicants who have obtained their education in California must have their application go before the Board for review. Once an application is complete the applicant will be scheduled for the next available Board Meeting which are held every 10 weeks.

15. Q. What test do I need to take in order to get a license?

State of Nevada requires that you take and pass a National Exam. The MBLEX, offered by the Federation of State massage Therapy Boards, and Structural Integration Exam, offered by the Certification Board of Structural Integration, are currently the only National Exams available at this time. If you have taken and passed the National Certification Exam of Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork (NCETMB), National Certification Exam of Therapeutic Massage (NCETM) or the National Exam for State Licensure (NESL) they will also be accepted. ITEC will also be accepted. Contact the testing agency that issued the exam taken and request to have the official score report sent directly to our office.

N.C.B.M.T.B. - NCBTMB.org (800) 296-0664

F.S.M.T.B. - FSMTB.org (888) 703-7682

MBLEX - 866-962-3926

ITEC – International call +44 (0)20 8994 4141 or visit www.itecworld.co.uk

16. Q. When applying for my license how do I submit my transcripts?

You will need to contact your school and have them send your transcripts directly to our office, or you may bring your transcripts to our office in the original sealed envelope from the school. Transcripts must be received before you submit your completed application.

17. Q. What if I cannot obtain my original transcripts or my school is no longer in business?

You will need to contact the Commission on Postsecondary Education in the state in which you went to school. They should have your transcripts on file. If after checking with the Commission on Postsecondary Education and they do not have your transcripts then contact our office in writing by email nvmassagebd@state.nv.us or fax (775) 786-4264 to let us know. Your application will need to be scheduled for a Board Meeting for an Application Review.

18. Q. How do I verify if my school is accredited?

You will need to contact the Post Secondary Education in the state which you went to school in.

For Nevada Schools - (702) 486-7330

19. Q. I mailed in the Temporary Application for a "TEMP" license, when will I receive it?

A temporary license is sent out 45 days from the date we receive your completed temporary application in our office.

20. Q. I am transferring my license from another state. Do I need to send in fingerprint cards if I am getting my Licensing Authority (State or Local) to sign-off on the Certified Statement from State Licensing Authority?

Yes, you need to submit fingerprints for a background check either via the Live Scan or fingerprint card process. The \$125.00 FBI/State fingerprinting fee is included in the total application fee.

21. Q. My school said that I can practice massage therapy under another person's license. Is this true?

No. Under NRS 640C.910 you must acquire a license to practice Massage Therapy in the State of Nevada.

26. Q. My school gave me homework to perform massage on the general public outside of school. Is this okay?

No. Unless it is a school sponsored function, it is a misdemeanor to practice Massage Therapy in the State of Nevada without a current license.

27. Q. My school gave me business cards and it has L.M.T. on it. Is this okay to pass out to the public?

No, under NRS 640C.910, if a person is not licensed to practice Massage Therapy in the State of Nevada, you may not use L.M.T. or any symbol or letters indicating you are a Licensed Massage Therapist. Your Massage License Number must be included in all advertising.

28. Q. Where do I get my fingerprinting done?

For both fingerprinting options, fingerprint vouchers and cards are issued after you have submitted your completed application request. For the Live Scan fingerprinting option, the voucher is only valid in the State of Nevada and a list of locations where you may have your fingerprints scanned are listed on the voucher. For the Fingerprint Cards option, a Fingerprint Card packet will be mailed out to you with a list of locations in Nevada where you may have your fingerprints rolled. If you our located outside of Nevada you may take your Fingerprint Card packet to any local law enforcement agency or any agency authorized to perform fingerprinting.

29. Q. How long does it take to process my Renewal?

The processing of all renewals takes 10 to 15 business days from the date received in our office. Renewals are processed in the order they are received.

30. Q. Can I pick my license up in the office?

Unfortunately, no.

31. Q. Can you overnight my license to me?

Unfortunately, no.

32. Q. How many Continuing Education Hours (CEH) do I need to renew my license?

You will need 12 CEH. each year to renew your license. We will roll over up to 36 CEH. over a 3 year period. For example, if you acquired 48 CEH. 12 CEH. will be applied to this year's renewal and 36 CEH. carried over the next 3 years.

33. Q. I took some classes two years ago; may I apply these CEH's to my renewal?

No, the only Continuing Education Hours (CEH.) that will be accepted is those that you acquired within the 12 months from the renewal of your license.

34. Q. I attended a Nevada State Board of Massage Therapy Board Meeting. Can I receive Continuing Education Hours for attending?

Yes. Please complete the Credit for Attending a Program Form located under the LICENSEE tab on the website and submit with your Renewal and appropriate fees. The sign in sheet must be verified and you will be given 1 hour of credit for every Board Meeting with a maximum of 8 hours per year.

35. Q. Do I have to submit the original copy of my CEH Certificate?

No.

36. Q. I do not have the required CEH's for my renewal. What can I do?

We do not recommend or endorse any providers, but you can locate some National Certification Board of Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork approved courses at the following websites. www.ncbtmb.com, <a href="www.ncbtmb.co

37. Q. When do I need to download a Continuing Education Form?

If you obtained CEH that are not certified by the NCBTMB, approved by the Commission on Postsecondary Education, or taken at an Institution of Higher Learning and/or within the University system. You will find the CEH Forms under the LICENSEES tab.

38. Q. May I put the letters L.M.T. (Licensed Massage Therapist) or M.T. (Massage Therapist) after my name?

Under NRS 640C.910 - **Only** if you are a Nevada State Licensed Massage Therapist.

39. Q. What is the proper term to use in order to describe my profession and the business I work in?

If you are Nevada State Licensed, **PLEASE** refer to yourself as a Licensed Massage Therapist, and your business as a Massage Establishment.

40. Q. How do I file a complaint?

Please download the Complaint Form under the CONSUMERS tab above. In order to take action, we will need this form to be completed thoroughly.

41. Q. I lost my license, how do I get another one?

Download the Duplicate License Affidavit under the LICENSEES tab. Please read instructions, complete the form and send to our office with the appropriate fee. Your Duplicate License request will be processed within 7 – 10 business days from the date received in our office.

42. Q. I got married (divorced) and want my name changed on my license, what do I do?

Download the Duplicate License Affidavit under the LICENSEES tab. Please read instructions, complete the form and send to our office with the appropriate fee. Your Duplicate License request will be processed within 7 – 10 business days from the date received in our office.

43. Q. I moved and want my address changed on my license, what do I do?

Download the Duplicate License Affidavit under the LICENSEES tab.

Please read instructions, complete the form and send to our office with the appropriate fee. Your Duplicate License request will be processed within 7 – 10 business days from the date received in our office.

44. Q. I moved but I don't want to change the address on my license. What do I need to do?

You will need to update your address in our records. Send your new mailing address to our office via fax or U.S. Mail. A change of address form can be found on the LICENSEES tab.

You may also send us an email requesting to update your address. Please email us at nvmassagebd@state.nv.us and type your new address in the body of the email. PLEASE DO NOT UPLOAD A CHANGE OF ADDRESS FORM IN THE EMAIL.

45. Q. Can I submit my CEH's from last year for this year?

No. All credits in excess must be submitted at the time of the Renewal in the year in which the CEH's were taken. (eg. Renewal period March 1, 2008- February 28, 2009. All CEH's taken between March 1, 2007 – February 28, 2008 must be submitted at that time to be counted for rollover). You have until your expiration date to submit CEH's to be used for rollover.

49. Q. I want to take some time off from practicing massage, what should I do?

Your license must be current when you email, fax or mail a letter stating that you wish to have your license put on Inactive Status. At that point, you have 2 years to reactivate your license current. The fee is \$100.00 plus the Renewal fee which is currently \$150.00. If you Reactivate within 1 to 24 months, you must submit the Renewal Form and 12 hours of Continuing Education Hours must be submitted within 6 months of Renewal Form. The fees associated to Reactivate a license:

1 to 24 months – Renewal Application - \$100.00* License Fee \$150.00* **Total - \$250.00**

If you fail to Reactivate within 2 years, you must apply as a New Applicant/Licensee.

50. Q. My license is expired. What do I need to do?

You must submit a Renewal Form, Renewal Fee and 12 CEH for each year you are expired and also include \$25.00 per month in late fees. The late fees will not exceed \$500.00. If your license is expired for over 2 years you will be required to reapply as a New Applicant/Licensee and pay an Application Fee of \$380. You will also have to submit a background check.

51. Q. I am transferring my license from another state to Nevada. Do I still

have to take the National Exam?

Yes.

52. Q. I want to transfer my license to another state. What forms to I need to complete?

You will need to complete a Verification of Licensure. This can be found under the LICENSEES tab. Check with the state you will be transferring to. They will have a procedure you will need to complete too.

53. Q. I want to do massages from my home. Is this legal?

You will need to check with your local jurisdiction where you are practicing. They may have Business Licensing laws that prohibit this from occurring.

54. Q. Is cross gender massage legal in Nevada?

Cross gender massage is legal in the State of Nevada.

55. Q. I work for a Chiropractor. Do I still need a Massage Therapists' License or can I practice under the Chiropractor?

Yes, you need a Nevada State Massage Therapists license. You cannot practice under anyone's license.

56. Q Can I take my photo myself and use for my renewal?

Yes. You can but please make sure that it has a solid white background showing head and shoulders. No sunglasses, hats or other objects blocking your face. No profile pictures or cover shots will be accepted.