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Division of Public and Behavioral Health 

Brief History: MM in Nevada 

• October 2001: Patient registry for home 
cultivation became legal 

• June 2013: NRS 453A modified to include MM 
establishments 

• March 2015: First MM establishments opened 
for business in Nevada 
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Division of Public and Behavioral Health 

Nevada MM Patient Demographics 
July, 2016 

• Nevada patients with cards: 20,773 

– Carson-Lyon-Douglas: 1,591 

– Clark County: 14,347 

– Washoe County: 3,302 

– Details are in Monthly Reports on 
Patient homepage   
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Division of Public and Behavioral Health 

What is “Medical” Marijuana? 

• Cannabis is cannabis, but… 
• Nevada law requires all medical marijuana products to be laboratory 

tested, hence “medical grade” 
• Testing is done for 

– Potency analysis of cannabinoids and terpenoids 
– Foreign matter inspection 
– Microbial and mycotoxin screening 
– Heavy metal testing 
– Pesticide residue analysis 

• Batches that fail must be destroyed 
• Packages of MM must have labels with laboratory findings 
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How to Get a  
Medical Marijuana Card 



Division of Public and Behavioral Health 

Getting a MM Card 

• Nevada Medical Marijuana Registry is for 
Nevadans 

– Patients must have a current Nevada DL or ID card 

– Current address required 
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Division of Public and Behavioral Health 

Getting a MM Card 

• Physician recommends using MM 
– Hot tip:  bring the Physician Statement page of 

MM card application to annual checkup.  It is OK 
for patients to start the conversation 

– Some physicians do, some do not write 
recommendations (not prescriptions).  

– There is not a subset of MM physicians 

– The recommendation must come from a Nevada 
licensed MD or DO 

– Division does not refer physicians 

7 



Division of Public and Behavioral Health 

Approved Conditions for Medical 
Marijuana in Nevada 

• Acquired immune deficiency syndrome (AIDS) 

• Cancer 

• Glaucoma 

• Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) 

• Cachexia (general physical wasting and malnutrition from chronic disease) 

• Persistent muscle spasms (including multiple sclerosis) 

• Seizures (including epilepsy) 

• Severe nausea 

• Severe pain (the most commonly reported condition) 

• Additional conditions, subject to approval by the Division 
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Division of Public and Behavioral Health 

Two Ways to Apply 

• Email the Division at 
medicalmarijuana@health.nv.gov 

• Online Patient Registry 

– Go to Patient Registry homepage (accessed at 
http://dpbh.nv.gov) 

– Online registry: apply, pay, get letter of approval 
online 
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Division of Public and Behavioral Health 

Brand New Breakthrough 

• Visits to DMV no longer necessary 

• Cards are mailed directly to approved patients 
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Division of Public and Behavioral Health 

Division Fee for MM Cards 

      First card: $100.00          
  Renewals:  $75.00 
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Division of Public and Behavioral Health 

Why Pay Extra? 

• Some patients unnecessarily hire consultants 
to assist with getting their card 

• Widespread myth: MM-only physicians 

• Consultants are legal; abound in Clark County 

• Cost to consultants can exceed $500  
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Division of Public and Behavioral Health 

There are rules! 

• Yes, prosecution exemptions are in place for 
cardholders, but patients may not 
– Use MM in public 
– Possess on school property or in jail 
– Share with non-MM cardholders 
– Drive vehicles, fly planes or operate watercraft while 

under the influence 
– Possess firearms while under the influence 
– Amusement ride, water ski, or surf while under the 

influence 
– Exceed 2 ½ ounces; 12 plants possession limits  
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Division of Public and Behavioral Health 

Patients Can Grow if… 

• The dispensary in their county closed or is 
unable to supply the quantity or strain they 
need     

• Patient and caregiver are “unable reasonably 
to travel” to a dispensary due to illness or lack 
of transportation 

• No dispensary was operating within 25 miles 
of their home when they first applied 

• SB 447 
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Topical Application of  
Medical Marijuana 

 



Division of Public and Behavioral Health 

What are Cannabinoids? 

• Active compounds in cannabis   

• Terpenoids are also involved 

• Many have medicinal benefits 

• Most commonly mentioned 

– THC -  the psychoactive ingredient 

– CBD -  cannabidiol is more associated with medical 
benefits 
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Division of Public and Behavioral Health 

CBD Products 

• Legal, available in local stores 

• By NRS, must contain <.3% THC 

• Not regulated by NRS 453A 
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Division of Public and Behavioral Health 

How Do MM Topicals Work? 
• Absorbed effect is reported to be fairly quick 

– Targeted relief; psychoactive effects minimal 

• THC absorption reported to be low 

• There is some evidence that CBD absorption is higher 

• Journal of Pharmacy and Pharmacology, 56, no. 3 
(2004): 291-97 

– Used for conditions such as arthritis, joint or 
muscle pain, sports injuries 

– Lotions, sprays, creams, oils, balms, salves 
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Division of Public and Behavioral Health 

From cannabismassagecolorado.com 
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Division of Public and Behavioral Health 

From medicaljane.com 

• Topicals can be absorbed through the skin 

• Research indicates topical application 

– Onset is within minutes 

– Relief can last hours 
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Division of Public and Behavioral Health 

From safeaccessnow.org 

• Cannabinoids combined with a penetrating topical cream 
can enter the skin and body tissues and allow for direct 
application to affected areas (e.g. allergic skin reactions, 
post-herpes neuralgia, muscle strain, inflammation, 
swelling, etc.) 

• Cannabinoids in cannabis interact with CB1 and CB2 
receptors that are found all over the body, including the 
skin. 

• Both THC and cannabidiol (CBD) have been found to 
provide pain relief and reduce inflammation. 

• Topical cannabis use does not produce a psychoactive 
effect, which is different from eating or inhaling the 
medicine. 
 

21 



Division of Public and Behavioral Health 

So can we use them? 

• Here is what we know 

– Patients may not use in public 

– Patients have possession limits 

– Patients should not use while they are surfing, etc.  

– May not use at school 

– May not share their MM with non-registry 
persons  
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Division of Public and Behavioral Health 

Affirmative Defense 

• An affirmative defense to a charge is used 
when 

– There are facts that defeat, negate or mitigate the 
legal consequences of the “otherwise unlawful 
conduct” 

– Facts must be proven by the defendant 

– E.g., self-defense 
 

23 



Division of Public and Behavioral Health 

NRS 453A.310   
Affirmative Defense 

• 3. “…a person engaged or assisting in the 
medical use of marijuana who is charged…is 
not precluded from 

(a) Asserting a defense of medical necessity; or 

(b) Presenting evidence supporting the necessity of 
marijuana for treatment of a specific disease or 
medical condition…” 
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Division of Public and Behavioral Health 

SUGGESTIONS 

• Ensure the client is a MM patient, has an 
unexpired card 

• The product is the property of the patient 

• Have a policy in place that states the above 

– AG input? 

– Local law enforcement input? 
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Division of Public and Behavioral Health 

Thank you! 

• Pam Graber 
• Division of Public and Behavioral Health 
• pgraber@health.nv.gov 
• 775-684-3487 
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